This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County and Municipal Flags (North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany)

Kreis- und Gemeindeflaggen in Nordrhein-Westfalen

Last modified: 2008-01-26 by jarig bakker
Keywords: nordrhein-westfalen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

NRW counties and municipalities:
  • Higher Communal Associations (Kommunalverbände, Landesverbände and Landschaftsverbände):
County Flags (Kreisflaggen): Flags of Former Counties: County-Free City Flags (Flaggen kreisfreier Städte): Other Municipal Flags (andere Gemeindeflaggen): See also:

Higher Communal Associations / Kommunalverbände, Landesverbände and Landschaftsverbände

Higher communal associations in North Rhine-Westphalia are a difficult subject, as their territories partially overlap. There are two higher communal associations that are basically congruent with the borders of former Prussian provinces, the Landschaftsverband Rheinland and the Landschaftsverband Westfalen-Lippe. Furthermore a part of Westfalen-Lippe also forms the Landesverband Lippe (former state of Lippe), and there is a Kommunalverband Ruhrgebiet containing territories of Rheinland and Westfalen-Lippe.
Marcus Schmöger, 15 Oct 2001