This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

San Román province (Peru)

Last modified: 2008-02-23 by antónio martins
Keywords: san román | juliaca |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Description of the flag

The province of San Román is part of the region of Puno. Its capital is the town of Juliaca (c. 200 000 inhabitants in 2001), located on the Altiplano at an elevation of 3825 m asl.

On 6 October 1926, President of the Republic Augusto B. Leguia signed Law #5463, which created the Province of San Román. Formerly, Juliaca was a district of the Department of Puno. The new province was officialy inaugurated on 24 October 1926. The celebration of the 80th anniversary of the foundation of the province will include, among other events, the hoisting of the national flag and of the flag of Juliaca on the parade ground of the town.
from Los Andes
Ivan Sache, 17 Oct 2006

Anything below this line was not added by the editor of this page.