This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Jerichower Land county (Germany)

Landkreis Jerichower Land, Sachsen-Anhalt

Last modified: 2007-10-13 by jarig bakker
Keywords: jerichower land |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Jerichower Land county flag] 3:5 image by Jens Pattke, 10 Oct 2007
adopted 20 Aug 2007

Other Anhalt-Bitterfeld county pages: Old division: See also:

Jerichower Land county

Jerichower Land is a county (Kreis) in the north-east of Saxony-Anhalt, Germany. In 1994 the two counties of Burg and Loburg were merged, and re-adopted the historical name of Jerichow, well "Jerichower Land". On July 1, 2007, six municipalities (Hobeck, Lohburg, Lübs, Prödel, Rosian and Schweinitz) from the former county of Anhalt-Zerbst were added to Jerichower Land.The name of the county derives from the city of Jerichow, the name of which is related to that of an early Slavic tribal grouping - it is not related to the name for the city of Jericho (Westbank, Palestine).

On 20 August 2007 the symbols were defined by the main statute of the county (Hauptsatzung des Landkreises). The old symbols of the county of Jerichower Land are also the new symbols of the larger county.

CoA: The vertical bars in the left half of the coat of arms symbolize the Elbe-Havel canal, while the crane in the right symbolizes the natural environment of the county. Cranes are common birds in the countryside.
Official Description: "Gespalten Blau über Silber, vorn ein silberner Pfahl, hinten ein schwarzer silbern konturierter und rot bewehrter Kranich."
(Per pale azure a pale argent; argent a crane noir armed gules).

Flag: The county carries a flag in the colors white and blue.
Jens Pattke, 10 Oct 2007


[Jerichower Land county vertical flag] 8:3 image by Jens Pattke, 10 Oct 2007
adopted 20 Aug 2007


[Jerichower Land county coat of arms] image by Jens Pattke, 10 Oct 2007
adopted 20 Aug 2007