This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gifhorn county (Germany)

Landkreis Gifhorn, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2008-01-19 by jarig bakker
Keywords: gifhorn |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Gifhorn County flag] 3:5 image by Jörg Majewski, 19 Dec 2007
Flag adopted 15 Mar 1989

See also:

Gifhorn county

County: Gifhorn
county seat: Gifhorn
area: 607.85 qkm
population: 175,298
divisions: 41 municipalities, incl. 38 in 7 Samtgemeinden*, 1 city, 1 town
*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "collective municipality" is a combination of several municipalities to an administrative community  in Lower Saxony.
Jörg Majewski, 19 Dec 2007

Gifhorn county CoA

[Gifhorn County arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 19 Dec 2007
adopted 15 Mar 1989

The arms were granted on 29 August 1929.
The horn is a canting symbol and has been used by the city of Gifhorn since the 14th century. The lion and the hearts are taken from the arms of the Counts of Lüneburg and are used by the counts since the 13th century. The area belonged to the counts for many centuries.
Literature : Stadler, K. : Deutsche Wappen - Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Angelsachsen Verlag, 1964-1971, 8 volumes.
Source: Ralf Hartemink.