This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Oswiecim county (Poland)

Powiat Oświęcimski, Malopolskie vojvodship

Last modified: 2008-02-29 by jarig bakker
Keywords: oswiecim | auschwitz |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

This page is best viewed using Central European fonts AKA ISO-8859-2
[Oswięcim flag] image by Pascal Gross, 20 August 2000, after image from this site.
adopted 10 Nov 1999 Other Oswiecim pages: See also:

Oświęcim county flag

Oświęcim County (voj. Malopolskie) consists of the communes (gminy) Brzeszcze, Chełmek, Kęty, Osiek, Oświęcim city, Oświęcim commune, Polanka Wielka, Przeciszów, Zator. Flag adopted on 10 November 1999.
Source: FLAGA - Biuletyn Polskiego Towarzystwa Weksylologicznego Nr.13/14 (2001)
Jens Pattke, 1 Nov 2001

Oświęcim: south of Katowice. German name: Auschwitz. In fact, the famous concentration camp is (obviously) located some kms beyond the city's perimeter, but it became customary to identify it with that name.
Gwidon S. Naskrent, 6 Sept 2000

Oświęcim (Auschwitz) was a Polish city prior to WWII. When I went to see the concentration camp (the ultimate in despair), I think someone mentioned that some of the central buildings of the extermination camp were originally Polish army barracks. However, that is not to say that its arms were necessarily the same. The whole Silesian region, Polish at the beginning of the current millennium, passed out of Polish hands sometime in the 12-13 century. Although many principalities continued to be ruled by Polish princes, these had allegiance to the Czech, and later the Habsburg crowns, before coming into German possession in the 18th century. Hence the unique identity and traditions of this region.
Robert Czernkowski, 21 Aug 2000

Oświęcim county CoA

[Oswięcim county CoA] image from this site.