This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Torun county (Poland)

Kujawsko-pomorskie vojvodship

Last modified: 2008-02-03 by jarig bakker
Keywords: torun |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

This page is best viewed using Central European fonts AKA ISO-8859-2
[Toruń county proposed flag] image by Jens Pattke, 30 Jan 2003
adopted 6 Mar 2002 Other Torun pages: See also:

Toruń county flag

Piotr Kozanecki sent me following information. I have drawn his files. The Torun County in the Kujawsko-Pomorskie voivodship  has a proposal at present. It was adopted on 30 Oct 2001 by county law (UCHWAŁA Nr XXIII/183/01 Rady Powiatu Torunskiego z dnia 30 pazdziernika 2001 r. "w sprawie przyjęcia projektu herbu, flagi i pieczęci Powiatu Torunskiego").
Torun County consists of: Chełmża gmina wiejska (rural commune), Czernikowo, Lubicz, Łubianka, Łysomice, Obrowo, Wielka Nieszawka, Zławieś Wielka. Toruń city is itself a county, but not part of Torun County.
Jens Pattke, 30 Jan 2003

The eagle on the coat-of-arms of Torun/Thorn county appears to be modelled after that of West or "Royal" Prussia: see this webpage, and this one.
Santiago Dotor, 30 Jan 2003

In fact, it is the same eagle. The black colour of Royal Prussia's eagle was changed to white in 1995 (when the Torun voivodship CoA was adopted) because it was thought that public opinion might not accept the black eagle.
Piotr Kozanecki, 31 Jan 2003

There is new information about the flag of Torunski county in Kujawsko-Pomorskie voivodship, Poland. The official website states that the flag and coat of arms
were adopted on 6th March 2002 by County Assembly.
Valentin Poposki, 18 Oct 2006

Toruń county CoA

[Toruń county proposed CoA] image by Jens Pattke, 30 Jan 2003
adopted 6 Mar 2002