This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Matagalpa Department (Nicaragua)

Departamento de Matagalpa

Last modified: 2008-08-02 by dov gutterman
Keywords: nicaragua | matagalpa | matiguas | san isidoro |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

photo by Elisabet Ollé


  • Ciudad Dario (Metapa)
  • Esquipulas
  • Matagalpa
  • Matiguas
  • Muy Muy
  • Rancho Grande
  • Río Blanco
  • San Dionisio
  • San Isidro
  • San Ramón
  • Sébaco
  • Terrabona
  • Tuma-La Dalia

  • See also:

    Other sites:


    Matagalpa flag - Yellow mean that Matagalpa is a Catholic city. The balls in the shield are the first ten houses in the city. In the center of the shield, there is a "telar" where the indigenous people manmufactured their clothes. The inscription below the shield is "La Perla del Septentrión".
    Blue is for the colors of Nicaragua's national flag
    Green is for the Matagalpa mountains
    White mean peace. In the white stripe, there is the silouette of the departament and within it the "maiz" and "cafe", its main products.
    Source: Elisabet Ollé personal trip and photo, Information provided by Mss. Rosa.
    Jaume Ollé, 5 April 2008