This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

CEMAC, Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa

Communauté Économique et Monétaire de l'Afrique Centrale

Last modified: 2008-07-26 by rob raeside
Keywords: cemac | economic and monetary community of central africa |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

About the CEMAC, Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa

In June 1959, the "Union Douanière Équatoriale" (UDE, Equatorial Customs Union) was created by the Centrafrican Republic, Congo, Gabon and Chad. The former French colonies of Oubangui-Chari, Moyen Congo, Gabon and Chad, formerly known as "Afrique Équatoriale Française" (AEF, French Equatorial Africa) formed that year the "Union des Républiques de l'Afrique Centrale" (Union of the Republics of Central Africa), which was dissolved in August 1960 when the four countries were granted full independence. Cameroon joined the UDE in 1961. On 8 December 1964, the five countries created in Brazzaville (Congo) the "Union Douanière et Économique de l'Afrique Centrale" (UDEAC, Custms and Economic Union of Central Africa); Equatorial Guinea joined in 1983. On 16 March 1994 in N'Djamena (Chad), the UDEAC was transformed into the "Communauté Économique et Monétaire de l'Afrique Centrale" (CEMAC, Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa) in N'Djamena. The CEMAC has its seat in Bangui (Centrafrican Republic).
Source: (Official CEMAC website)

The 9th Summit of the CEMAC opened in Yaoundé (Cameroon) on 24 June 2008. The 8th Summit was closed on 25 April 2007 in N'Djamena (Chad); during the ceremony, following the use, President of Chad Idriss Déby (who won't attend the Yaoundé meeting because of unrest in Chad) transferred the official flag of CEMAC to Ephraïm Inoni, the Prime Minister of Cameroon.

I have not found any image of the flag, but I guess that it is white with the CEMAC emblem in the middle. The emblem of CEMAC can be seen on the organization website.

Ivan Sache, 25 June 2008