This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Haifa Subdistrict (Haifa District, Israel)

Nafat Kheifa | central city: Haifa

Last modified: 2008-07-19 by dov gutterman
Keywords: haifa subdistrict | nafat kheifa | haifa district | haqrayot |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


There are five Qrayot (plural of Qirya - short for Qrayot HaMifratz or the Bay's Qrayot) in Haifa Bay area: Qiryat Yam, Qiryat Haim and Qiryat Shemu'el (officialy part of Haifa), Qiryat Bialik, Qiryat Motzkin and Qiryat Ata.
There are also many nighbourhoods which are now parts of those five (some were also separate local councils in the past) that have this prefix, such as Qiryat Hashmal (today part of Qiryat Haim), Qiryat Shemaryahu (Qiryat Bialik), Qiryat Binyamin, Qiryat Frostig, Qiryat Shtand (Qiryat Ata) etc....
Dov Gutterman
, 13 August 2001

The word Qirya (pl. Qrayot) comes from the Bible and means town or city. The first to use it in this area was Qiryat Haim in 1933. Even though it is used in other local authorities - Qiryat Shemona in Upper Galilee, Qiryat Gat in the south, Qiryat Ono in the centre and others. However, when someone speaks about the Qrayot - he refers to the five which are situated in Zvulun Valley, Haifa Bay, north of Haifa.
Dov Gutterman
, 26 September 2001