This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Provinces of Finland

Last modified: 2007-02-10 by phil nelson
Keywords: finland | provinces: finland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Related sites:

Finland Provinces

Traditionally Finland has been divides into nine 'historical provinces' (in Finnish 'historiallinen maakunta', Swedish 'historiska landskap'). They have no administrative meaning any more.

Today we have six larger zones ('lääni', 'län'). For map, please see The Ministry of Interior uses the word 'province'. I have also seen terms 'administrative province' and 'county' used for these ones.

The six provinces are divided into 20 smaller areas ('maakuntaliitto', 'landskapsförbund'), see The Ministry of Interior calls these 'regional councils'.

I think that the six new administrative provinces don't use any special flags. Provincial governments are allowed to use the state flag and I think that is enough for them. I haven't heard that they had used e.g. banners of arms during these three years.

On the other hand, the twenty counties (created 1997) usually use banners-of-arms. The coats of arms can be found at Åland's coat of arms is missing, but they use the blue-yellow-red scandinavian cross flag.
Ossi Raivio, 26 September 2000

In 1995 the old system "Finland 12 provinces (lääni, län, 400+ municipalities" was replaced with a new one: "Finland 6 provinces (lääni, län), 20 regions/counties (maakunta, landskap), 400+ municipalities". Quite simple. The problem, if there is any, is that we use the same word (maakunta, landskap) for the old, large, historical provinces and for the new, small regions/counties.
Ossi Raivio, 8 March 2001

Editor's note: According to Finnish heraldists, the heraldry of the newer regions (maakunta/landskap) shall be treated along the lines of municipal heraldry (because they are legally municipal entities), so pages for them are linked from the page for Finnish municipal flags rather than the page for Finnish provincial flags.

List of Provinces

Administrative provinces (today) (lääni, län)

Strictly speaking, Ahvenanmaan lääni is an autonomous province (itsehallinnollinen maakunta / autonomt landskap), the others are just provinces (lääni, län).
Rob Raeside, 2001-Mar-12

Traditional (historical) provinces
(historiallinen maakunta, historiska landskap)

Regional councils (maakunta, landskap)