This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County and Municipal Flags (Saxony, Germany)

Landkreis- und Gemeindeflaggen

Last modified: 2007-03-10 by jarig bakker
Keywords: saxony | sachsen |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Counties / Landkreise

Annaberg county (AG) Landkreis Annaberg
Aue-Schwarzenberg county (AE) Landkreis Aue-Schwarzenberg
Bautzen county (BZ) Landkreis Bautzen
Chemnitzer Land county (GC) Landkreis Chemnitzer Land
Delitzsch county (DZ) Landkreis Delitzsch
Doebeln county (DL) Landkreis Döbeln
Freiberg county (FG) Landkreis Freiberg
Kamenz county (KM) Landkreis Kamenz
Leipziger Land county (LZ) Landkreis Leipziger Land
Loebau-Zittau county (ZI) Landkreis Löbau-Zittau
Meissen county (MS) Landkreis Meißen
Mittleres Erzgebirge county (EK) Mittlerer Erzgebirgskreis
Mittweida county (MW) Landkreis Mittweida
Muldental county (MD Muldentalkreis
Niederschlesischer Oberlausitz county (NO) Niederschlesischer Oberlausitzkreis
Riesa-Großenhain county (RG) Landkreis  Riesa-Großenhain
Sächsische Schweiz county (PN) Landkreis Sächsische Schweiz
Stollberg county (STL) Landkreis Stollberg
Torgau-Oschatz county (TO) Landkreis Torgau-Oschatz
Vogtland county (VO) Vogtlandkreis
Weißeritz county (DW) Weißeritzkreis
Zwickauer Land (ZL) Landkreis Zwickauer Land

County-Free City Flags / Flaggen kreisfreier Städte

There are seven county-free cities (Kreisfreie Städte) in Saxony. I managed to find flags for four of them: Chemnitz, Dresden, Leipzig and Plauen. Falko Schmidt was kind enough to send me descriptions for the others: Görlitz, Hoyerswerda and Zwickau. Stefan Schwoon, 15 Feb 2001

Other Municipal Flags / Gemeindeflaggen

Flags of Germany [Saxon city flags?, quoted from Flaggenmitteilung?]:
Municipality or Gemeinde - colours
Altenberg - white-red (since 1830)
Annaberg - blue-yellow (until 1899 called Schellenberg)
Augustusburg - white-blue
Bärenstein - blue-white
Bergiebrubel - black-yellow
Brand - black-yellow
Burgstädt - red-white
Chemnitz - blue-yellow
Dahlen - white-red
Dippoldiswalde - blue-yellow
Döbeln - black-yellow
Dohna - yellow-blue
Dresden - black-yellow
Ehrenfriedersdorf - yellow-red
Frankenberg - yellow-red
Frauenstein - red-yellow
Freiberg - black-yellow
Freital - red-yellow
Geising - black-yellow - known since 1615
Geithain - black-yellow
Geyer - yellow-blue
Glashütte - black-yellow
Gottleuba - black-yellow
Großenhain - black-yellow
Hainichen - yellow-blue
Hartha - yellow-blue
Heidenau - yellow-blue
Hohnstein - black-yellow
Johlstadt - yellow-blue
Konigstein - white-red
Lauenstein - yellow-blue
Leisnig - yellow-black
Lengefeld i E. - black-yellow
Liebstadt - white-red
Limbach - red-green
Lommatzsch - red-white
Lunzenau - yellow-blue
Marienberg - yellow-blue
Meißen - black-yellow
Mittweida - black-yellow
Neustadt - yellow-blue
Nossen - red-white
Oederan - yellow-blue
Olbernhau - white-blue
Oschatz - black-yellow
Penig - red-white
Pirna - red-yellow
Rabenau - black-yellow
Radeberg - red-yellow - Kotzschenbreda till 1936 - green-yellow then to...
Radebeul - white-red
Radeburg - yellow-black (1899) - until 28.1.1915: blue-white-red
Riesa - blue-white
Rochlitz - black-yellow
Roßwein - white-red
Sayda - red-yellow
Schandau - white-blue
Sebnitz - yellow-blue
Siebenlehn - black-yellow
Stollberg - yellow-red
Strehla - white-red
Tralheim -  yellow-white
Tharandt - red-white
Thum - red-yellow
Waldheim - yellow-blue
Wehlen - blue-white
Wilsdruff - red-white
Wolkenstein - black-yellow
Zoblitz - black-yellow
Zschopau - yellow-blue
Jaume Ollé, 11 Sep 1999

The names of the municipalities contain a number of spelling mistakes, and some have become renamed or incorporated into other municipalities. This is a list of corrections/updates:

  • Annaberg: incorporated into Annaberg-Buchholz
  • Bärenstein: there are three locations with this name in Saxony, one of them is a city, Bärenstein im Osterzgebirge in the county Weißeritzkreis.
  • Bergiebrubel: I can only guess that this means Berggießhübel, a town which has become incorporated into Bad Gottleuba-Berggießhübel.
  • Brand: there are several of these: Brand bei Zwickau (part of Zwickau), Brand-Erbisdorf (town near Chemnitz) and Brand bei Hohnstein (part of Hohnstein).
  • Geising: the words nachwishar seit should read nachweisbar seit, meaning 'verifiable since'
  • Gottleuba: now part of Bad Gottleuba-Berggießhübel
  • Johlstadt: probably Jöhstadt (?)
  • Lauenstein: now part of Geising
  • Limbach: now part of Limbach-Oberfrohna
  • Neustadt: ambiguous, there are at least two towns of this name in Saxony: Neustadt in Sachsen, and Neustadt im Vogtland
  • Schandau: renamed to Bad Schandau
  • Tralheim: probably Thalheim is meant?
  • Wehlen: complete name Stadt Wehlen
  • Zoblitz: now part of Reichenbach/OL
Stefan Schwoon, 11 Feb 2002