This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Ostholstein County (Germany)

Kreis Ostholstein, Schleswig-Holstein

Last modified: 2007-12-29 by jarig bakker
Keywords: ostholstein |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Ostholstein County flag] image by Jörg Majewski, 9 Dec 2007 See also:

Ostholstein County

The Kreis Ostholstein / Ostholstein county has an area of 1.392 km2, and a population of over 250.000. It has 36 municipalities: 6 cities, 10 amtsfreie Gemeinden / separate municipalities, and 4 Ämter / supermunicipalities with 20 municipalities.

Ostholstein County arms

[Ostholstein County flag] image by Jörg Majewski, 9 Dec 2007
granted 25 May 1971

In 1970 the counties of Eutin and Oldenburg were merged, which prompted new arms, granted 25 May 1971.
Description: Blue with a silver tower. Its top is embattled with 5 embattlements. At halfheight there are another 5 embattlements. On top of the tower is a golden cross, crowned by a silver bishop's mitre with flying ribbons.
The tower is derived from the old Oldenburg arms, and the cross with mitre from the Eutin arms.
Source: Ostholstein county website.