This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Costa Rica - Universities Flags

Last modified: 2008-07-19 by dov gutterman
Keywords: costa rica | university |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Other sites:

Universidad de Costa Rica

image by Blas Delgado Ortiz, 28 Febuary 2002

The flag of Universidad de Costa Rica can be seen at <>.
Dov Gutterman, 21 January 2002

The Universidad de Costa Rica (University of Costa Rica) originates in the Casa de Enseñanza de Santo Tomás (St. Thomas Education House), founded in 1841 and transformed in 1843 into the Universidad de Santo Tomás (St. Thomas University). Some 45 years later, the university was closed for political, economic and academic reasons, but the Faculty of Law, Agronomy, Fine Arts and Pharmacy kept on existing independently. The Universidad de Costa Rica was founded, as the descendant of the Universidad de Santo Tomás, by Law of the Republic #362, voted on 26 August 1940. The university was inaugurated in March 1941.
The university has today a central seat in San José, the capital of Costa Rica, and five regional seats: Occidente (Western), founded in April 1968 in San Ramón de Alajuela; Atlántico (Atlantic), founded on 22 August 1971 in Turrialba; Guanacaste, founded in January 1972 in Liberia; Limón, founded in April 1975 in Puerto Limón; and Pacífico (Pacific), founded in August 1975 in Puntarenas. The university is divided in five Departments (Arts and Literature, Basic Sciences, Social Sciences, Engineering and Health) encompassing several Faculties, themsleves subdivided in Schools.
The flag of the Universidad de Costa Rica was prescribed in Article 6 of the first Decree of the University Council, issued on 7 January 1941. The flag was horizontally divided white - celeste blue - white, therefore similar to the national flag used in Costa Rica in 1843, when the Universidad de Santo Tomás was founded.
The shield of the Universidad de Costa Rica was prescribed in the same Decree. The shield is oval, showing on a light blue field, in the background a mountain with the sun half-rising over it and in the foreground a sunflower with the flower turned to the sun. The motto "LUCEM ASPICIO" (The Quest of the Sun) is written on the orle below the shield. UNIVERSIDAD DE COSTA RICA is written on the orle wbaove the shield. The shield is surrounded by two laurel branches joining above the shield. This shield was already used by the Universidad de Santo Tomás.
The flag and shield of the Universidad de Costa Rica were eventually specified during the extraordinary session #4512 of the University Council, held on 20 December 1999. The flag shall be made of three equal horizontal stripes, celeste blue, white and celeste blue, with the shield of the university in the middle. The dimensions of the flag shall match the dimensions of the national flag of Costa Rica, as prescribed by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs; that is 1.2 X 2 m.
Source: <>.
Ivan Sache, 7 February 2008

Colegio Monterrey

Colegio Monterrey was founded in 1956 in San José. A Christian Evangelic college, Colegio Monterey was accredited in 2006 by the ICAA (International Christian Accrediting Association), which has it seats in Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA.  For more information see Colegio Monterrey website.
The flag of Colegio Monterrey is white with a red crown outlined in blue and charged with a blue Greek cross. The name of the college is written in blue capital letters below the emblem.
From the colegio web site: "The white background symbolizes the peace that goes beyond human understanding for those who follow the Lord's teachings - our King - who is represented by a crown in the middle of the flag."
Source: <>.
Ivan Sache, 9 February 2008