This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Flags of hockey teams (Canada)

Last modified: 2005-12-31 by phil nelson
Keywords: canadian sports | hockey team | montreal canadians | ottawa senators | toronto maple leafs | vancouver canucks | calgary flames | edmundton oilers |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Calgary Flames

[Calgary Flames flag]
by Nicolas Deprez

The Calgary Flames won the Stanley Cup in 1989 and played (and lost) the final last year (2004) vs Tampa Bay Lightning.

The flag was showed at NASDAQ New-York and at Canada Embassy at Washington during Stanley Cup final last year.

The logo is from
Nicolas Deprez, 15 June 2005

Edmonton Oilers

[Edmonton Oilers flag]
by Nicolas Deprez

The Edmonton Oilers club first played into the defunct WHA (World Hockey Association) during the 70's (1972-78). The club is famous to have won several Stanley Cup during the 80's and especially for being the first club of the Great One Wayne Gretzky.
Nicolas Deprez, 17 March 2005

Montreal Canadiens

[Montreal Canadien's flag]
by Luc-Vartan Baronian

The Montreal Canadien's flag is used by fans since 1993, the year of the last Stanley Cup won by the team. It is a "banner of jersey". The colors of the team have been the same since 1909, the club's foundation date. They are derived from the French tricolor, a flag that was then used by French Canadians as representing themselves. (Actually, since 1902, it was in competition with the fleur de lis - the version prior to the current one used officially since 1948 -, this latter flag definitely taking over in the 1920s). In fact, one of the team's nicknames is "Le Tricolore". The CH letters stand for "Canadien Hockey", the official name of the team being "Club de hockey Canadien" since 1916-1917 (it was Club Athletique Canadien before). A rumour wants the H to signify "Habs" in English from "habitant" in French, the nickname that was given to French Canadian peasants at the turn of the century. However, this is just what it is, a rumour. It originated in 1924 when someone told this to Madison Square Garden's owner, Tex Rickard. "Habs" is still the preferred nickname of the team used by Anglo-Montrealers. Other nicknames are "Les Rouges" (The Reds, dominating color) and "La Sainte-Flanelle" (The Holy Flanelle).
Luc-Vartan Baronian, 18 December 1998

Ottawa Senators

[Ottawa Senators flag]
by Nicolas Deprez

The Ottawa Senators is one of the 30 teams of the National Hockey League (NHL). The league is composed by teams both from Canada and USA.

The franchise was incorporated in the league in 1917 and disappeared a few years later due to financial problems. It was reincorporated a second time in 1992.

Slapshot (magazine) edition of May 2004
Hockey Database Logo at
Nicolas Deprez, 4 May 2004

Toronto Maple Leafs

[Toronto Maple Leafs flag]
by Nicolas Deprez

The Toronto Maple Leafs is one of the more famous teams of National Hockey League (NHL). It has won 11 times the Stanley Cup.

Source : Television observations
Hockey Database Logo at
Nicolas Deprez, 4 May 2004

Vancouver Canucks

[Vancouver Canucks flag]
by Nicolas Deprez

The Vancouver Canucks joined the NHL (National Hockey League) in 1970 in the same time that Buffalo Sabres. This team never won the famous Stanley Cup but played the final vs New-York Rangers in 1994.

The logo is from

The Official website of the club is:
Nicolas Deprez, 14 June 2005